Week 11: Blog post

This week’s Action Items were awesome.  I have to admit though, by the end of the series I felt like a total amateur.  I’m not sure I even have the creativity in me to produce stories of the caliber of those I watched this week.  That is not to say, though, that I won’t try – hopefully with practice, I’ll be able to improve.
 
I started this semester with skepticism toward the use of social networking in education, or in any “meaningful” endeavor for that matter.    I saw social networking as something that kids played around with, and adults wasted time with. I had never been exposed to any other use of social networking.  I took this class because I wanted to see if there was anything more to social networking.  I have come to understand that there are, in fact, ways to use social networking in extraordinarily meaningful ways.
 
When my Daughter, who is 17, sees the ways in which I use social networking tools this class, it seems to confuse her in some way.  Her expression seems to say: why are you adulterating my toys?  In my meme, I wanted to express both the quizzical expression of my Daughter, and my new-found understanding of web2.0 tools – They are not just for kids!
5 thoughts on “Week 11: Blog post

  1. Nice summary! Like picture! My grandson 19 yrs. told me the same thing…grand mom what are you trying to do? Stated he would not befriend me of Facebook and not respond to me on Twitter…as the kids would say ‘go figure’.

  2. I almost want to change this to “it’s not just for brats anymore”. As in the Justin Bieber generation. I feel like that’s where social media really hit hard first, the 12-18 crowd, and it has spread both downward and upward by age slowly. Mulling through Pinterest this morning, I caught an article about using Twitter in the kindergarten classroom. Five year olds using Twitter? Who’d have thought! I love your concept overall, great job!

  3. Creativity comes in many forms. I like this meme and it really tells the generational differences. A friend of mine has a daughter who is just three years old and she has some mad tech skills already.

Leave a Reply

