Week 5 Activity

I chose the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)for this week’s activity because, well, I teach mathematics.   From their profile: “NCTM is a public voice of mathematics education, providing vision, leadership and professional development.”  It is located in Reston, Virgina.

The organization has 9900 followers on Twitter, which is impressive to me, and therefore lends some credibility to the organization.  They have a very professional and well developed website with LOADS of resources for math instructors.

The following are five entities that I have found (via twitter) to have some sort of a relationship with NCTM:

  1. American Mathematical Society (AMS):  The AMS was founded in 1888 to further the interests of mathematical research and scholarship and serves the national and international community.  They have a very professional, informative and well-developed website.
  2. Math Association of America (MAA):  The Mathematical Association of America is the largest professional society that focuses on mathematics accessible at the undergraduate level.  They have 5824 followers on Twitter.  They have a very professional and well-developed website.
  3. The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA):  Promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all.  They have 10233 followers on Twitter.  Interestingly, they only follow 483, one of which is NCTM.  They have a very professional website.
  4. NYT Learning Network:  Teaching & Learning With The New York Times.  The NY Times is certainly a well known and reputable organization.  The NYT learning network has more than 12,000 followers, and it follows NCTM!  Here is a link to the learning network’s website.
  5. Northern Illinois University: Well…it looks credible because it is a University.
Each of above five entities are large, well-known, well-established and well-respected organizations.  They all have well developed websites with a multitude of resources.  There is no reason to believe that The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics is anything other than trustworthy, as is is associated with each of those organizations.

I have chosen to “follow” all six organizations as they all provide valuable information and resources within my field.
3 thoughts on “Week 5 Activity

  1. Since this posting I have continued searching through the NCTM followers for individuals that are interesting/trustworthy to me. This process has yielded FAR better contacts than I had previously found. A couple of my new contacts are Carol Tonhouser (http://techingaround.blogspot.com/) and PatrickJMT (http://patrickjmt.com/). I am now following each of them as their blogs contain just the kind of information/comments/content that interest me

  2. I am curious. I see that found several credible entities to follow. Were you able to find this right away or did you have to sift through a bunch to get to them. Or…did you just hone in on more credible sites? Thanks!

    • Hi Jann,
      The credible “entities” were not too difficult to find, but credible “individuals”, on the other hand, were!

      For the “entities” I started by “following” several entities that I already knew to be trustworthy. Then, In the twitter profile for NCTM, I clicked on “followers” and filtered by “people I follow” to see if the entities I chose to follow were following NCTM.

      For the “individuals”, I had to simply sift through all of NCTM’s followers until I found what I felt were credible people, or people who are doing things that I am interested in. It was just a brute-force process and believe me, there is a LOT of garbage in those “followers” lists.

      In the end, it was the “individuals” that I found most interesting as they are people having discussions about topics that I’m interested in. The “entities” seem to act as repositories of information. Mat would call them “Broadcasters”. There is little, if any, discussion going on on their sites.

      Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

